LED Headlights for 81 Avanti II

wildfelr

RQB3263 IS FINALLY 99.9 % done... the last .1 % is unobtainable ..but ill keep trying ...so please share with me any info and experience about retro fitting LED headlight bulbs in place of the OEM 7" round incandescent originals.. Is it a direct bolt in change ( no modifications req)??...what brand and where from ??...wattage or candle power comparison with OEM ??..Im sure im not the first to do this so let me know how it goes ....THANKS , BILL , RQB3263

I've no personal experience with LED headlights but when I checked (several years ago), they were quite expensive and may not fit in an Avanti headlight well as they require a fairly large electrical box of some type behind them. Like I said...that was a few years ago so something more advanced and acceptable may be available now. I ended up using some headlights that, if I remember, use H3 or H4 bulbs. You have a large selection of those light bulbs. You have to be careful with those as well...some brands have a pronounced curve to the front of the lens that will strike the glass covers in front of the lights...if your car came with glass covers...they were dropped at a certain point due to DOT regulations.

I did end up replacing most of the small bulbs in my car with LED...tail lights, interior lights, glove box light, transmission indictor light, tag light and hi-intensity LED strips in the trunk. All are very bright and a much whiter light. The only ones I haven't replaced with LED's are the gauge lights... I've got the red LED lights but my hand is too big to reach up under the dash.

In the end, my car rarely gets driven at night so it's really not that big a deal for me.

• 2 weeks later...