RQ B 2426 1976

Tony S

Hi, I am new to he forum and just become the owner of RQB 2464 which is in pretty good mostly original shape with the exception of a few minor and one major item. The car needs hog troughs but I will address that at a latter date. My current focus is the left side engine pipe that comes down next to the steering drag link. The pipe has been smashed almost flat to allow the steering arm to make a full swing. the pipe is at the end of the travel of the arm. Is this normal? Could the wrong manifold be on the engine. Is the pipe wrong? The car still has the cat and fake dual exhaust. I am thinking of doing a true full exhaust but if the d/s pipe has to be smashed to fit I guess there would be no benefit to true duals.

Hi, I am new to he forum and just become the owner of RQB 2464 which is in pretty good mostly original shape with the exception of a few minor and one major item. The car needs hog troughs but I will address that at a latter date. My current focus is the left side engine pipe that comes down next to the steering drag link. The pipe has been smashed almost flat to allow the steering arm to make a full swing. the pipe is at the end of the travel of the arm. Is this normal? Could the wrong manifold be on the engine. Is the pipe wrong? The car still has the cat and fake dual exhaust. I am thinking of doing a true full exhaust but if the d/s pipe has to be smashed to fit I guess there would be no benefit to true duals.

Believe it or not, that ugly pipe is from the factory. Like you, I couldn't believe that they would restrict the pipe that badly. Last year, I converted my '78 to straight duals. I installed stainless pipes that I purchased from Don Simmons (Silvertone Exhaust Systems, 519-485-1966). He had not done a system specifically for replacement of a catalytic equipped car. I used pipes from the system that he sells for 65-74 Avanti II. The d/s downpipe is shaped in such a manner that it is not crushed like your original.