Art - '63 Avanti R1

Darrell White

Hello,

Just joined the forum! Stumbled across this site a while back while researching Avanti's for an upcoming (at the time) art piece.

This is my father's former 1963 Avanti R1, number unknown to me. He bought it in either '64 or '65, when still pretty new. Had it for many years, but sold it before I was around and has been kicking himself ever since. Every now and again, I see a II out there, but been a few years since the last sighting.

Anyway, I'm a professional artist, mainly doing commissioned art pieces of cars or motorcycle road racing. I do amature sport bike road racing myself, and got back into art after a few years off and started doing race pieces or classic car art. My Father kept asking me to do a piece of his Avanti, but I couldn't seem to fit it in between commissioned pieces. Finally was able to do it, recently finished, and going to give it to him for his 76th birthday next week. Just got it framed this evening.

The media is prismacolor pencil, and sized 14 x 17. Lots of time on this one, approximately 100-120 hours I'd say from start to finish.

Also, if anyone is interested, I will have limited run prints available soon, small poster size ~18 x 24 or so.

Please give feedback, just want to make sure I got all the details plugged before I give it to him next week. Thanks for looking!

2606548050_c4d3446da8_b.jpg

Darrell

Thanks!

Although I just had an oh crap moment after shuffling through some more photos...forgot to add the rear view mirror on the dash. Have to fix before hand. Oops!

The mirror is mounted above the dash about 8"

The mirror is mounted above the dash about 8"

The mirror was mounted on the glass on production models. The early prototypes had the mirror mounted on a ball socket on the dash itself, similar to many Chrysler cars of the period. If his Dad's Avanti has the dash mounted mirror, it's one of the original prototypes, unless someone swapped out the dash.